Skip to content
English
  • There are no suggestions because the search field is empty.

Web-to-Text-Chat

Turn website visits into engaging, 2-way SMS conversations with the GatherUp Web-to-Text Chat widget.

Turn website visits into engaging, 2-way SMS conversations with the GatherUp Web-to-Text Chat widget. You’ll now have a Contact Form on every page of your website!

This feature places a 2-way text messaging tool right on the website. Keep the conversation going to close leads faster, and support customers to create a better overall customer experience!

To unlock this feature you have to upgrade your account. Select Conversations in the left-hand navigation. Then click Upgrade Now. Watch the video below for more details about adding and removing this feature to your account or location.

Watch the video

Embed the chat widget on your website:

  1. Log in to GatherUp
  2. Choose the location for which you want the webchat widget. For single location businesses move to step 3
  3. Under Publish select Webchat Widget
  4. Click Get Embed code
  5. An embed code is generated for this location’s webchat widget. Copy this code and place it on your website where it will appear across the entire site.

Manage Conversations

Once you receive an inbound message you have access to these messages within the Conversations tab of your left-hand navigation. If you have any new messages they will appear here.

NOTE: New messages can come from either the Web-to-Text chat widget OR a customer responding to an SMS review request .

New Messages are highlighted to let the user know these are new messages.

Respond to the message using the text box. You can even add emojis. Once ready, click the Send SMS button.

Your entire conversation with this person will be found here.

You can assign a conversation to another user within your GatherUp account. Above the message click Assign. Then choose the person you wish to assign this conversation.

Once a conversation has ended or has been resolved, you can click Close.Above the list of messages you will see two tabs. One for Open and one for Closed. This allows you to sort messages and keep resolved messages out of your Open inbox.

Re-open a closed conversation by clicking Re-open above the message window, next to the Assign button.

When a conversation has been started you can also view the contact's profile. They may have left the business feedback in the past which can be helpful in the conversation. Add notes here as well to reference later.

New Message Notifications

Notification emails are sent 1 hour after receiving a new message if no response has been sent.

Note: The reason for the delay is because some users will be having the conversation in the app and therefore has no need for the notifications.

Notifications can be managed within Settings > Notifications menu.Toggle on the user permission levels , or add specific emails to receive notifications by toggling ON the Additional Recipients toggle.