Skip to content
English
  • There are no suggestions because the search field is empty.

Push Default Settings To Current Locations

GatherUp supports a wide range of customization options to give your business complete control.

Overview:

GatherUp supports a wide range of customization options to give your business complete control. However, managing settings across many locations can become time-consuming.

We’ve updated the Client and Agency Default Configuration pages to help you manage settings across many locations quickly and easily.

Rather than navigating to each location to make a change, you can now copy settings across multiple locations from the default configuration page.

Why Use This Feature?

  • Quick, Painless Adjustments: Avoid tedious and repetitive work navigating through the account structure to make small updates.
  • Configure Default Send Mode: Now, you can decide whether new locations and clients use automatic or manual mode by default. You can also use the push settings buttonto update the current send mode for selected clients/location.
  • Consistent Configuration: Keep all your locations and clients using the same settings for easier management at high volumes.
  • Scale Easily: Add locations and grow your business without increasing tedious setup tasks.

How It Works:

  • Push Settings to Existing Locations: Choose your desired default settings, then select existing locations to inherit the same configuration. You can update your brand colors, request setup, notifications, and more for many locations at once from the default configuration area.
  • Push Settings to Existing Clients: In an agency account, you can select specific clients to inherit your default configuration. You can also update existing locations within those clients to match the defaults you choose.
  • Grouped Settings: You can update one settings group at a time. For example, you can update the SMS settings for 5 locations to ensure they match, without making changes to their notification settings or brand and colors settings. The updates apply to one tab at a time on the default configuration page.
  • Check Current Settings: Not sure what settings a location currently uses? You can click the location or client name in the selection modal to open the corresponding settings in a new tab and verify before proceeding.

Get Started:

Push Settings to Existing Locations

  1. Ensure you have permission to access default configuration. Typically, Administrator, Agency Manager, and Manager user roles have access.
  2. In an agency account, navigate to the client you want to edit. In a non-agency account, skip this step.
  3. From the user menu in the top right corner of the page, select “Default Configuration.”
  4. Choose the tab corresponding to the settings you want to update, such as Notifications.
  5. Make any updates you would like to push to existing locations.

  6. Note: Any changes you make on the default configuration page will impact new locations added to your account moving forward.

  7. Note: Some tabs have a save button. Be sure to click save before continuing.
  8. After making changes, click the button “Push Changes to Existing Locations” at the bottom of the page.
  9. A popup will appear. Select the locations you want to revise.

  10. Use the search bar to find specific locations.

  11. Use the select all/deselect all button to choose many at once.
  12. If you’re not sure what settings a location currently uses, click the location name to open the corresponding setting in a new tab.
  13. After selecting locations, click next. You’ll see a confirmation screen.
  14. Type UPDATE to confirm the changes.

  15. Note: Changes cannot be reversed. However, you can complete an additional push settings update to make revisions or select additional locations.

  16. If you do not want the changes to apply to new locations moving forward, manually undo the changes you made on the settings screen.

    1. For example, if you updated some existing locations to use automatic mode, but want the default to be manual mode, be sure to switch the setting back to manual mode before leaving the page. (No need to click the “push settings” button again, as the page reflects defaults that apply to new locations only)
    2. Some updates may take a few minutes to complete. While the update is processing, making further changes will be temporarily disabled.

Push Settings to Existing Clients

  1. Ensure you are in an agency account with permission to access default configuration.
  2. From the agency dashboard, click the user menu in the top right corner of the page and select “Agency Default Configuration.”
  3. Follow steps 4-8 above, noting that changes will update the default settings for the client(s) you select.
  4. After selecting clients, click next. You will be given the option to update current client defaults only, or the option to update current client defaults and current location settings within those clients.

  5. By updating defaults only, the new locations added to each client will adopt the changes you push.

  6. By updating current locations, all existing locations within the clients selected will also adopt the changes you push. The defaults for new locations will be updated as well.
  7. If you do not push any settings, the changes you make to the page will only impact new clients added moving forward. New clients added will have a Client Default Configuration page that matches the settings shown on Agency Default Configuration. Existing client defaults and locations within those clients will not change.
  8. If you do not want the changes to apply to new clients moving forward, manually undo the changes you made on the settings screen.

  9. For example, if you updated some existing clients to use automatic mode, but want the default to be manual mode, be sure to switch the setting back to manual mode before leaving the page. (No need to click the “push settings” button again.)

  10. Some updates may take a few minutes to complete. While the update is processing, making further changes will be temporarily disabled.

Things to Note:

  • All changes on a settings tab update at once. For example, if you want to update the color for many existing locations, they will also inherit the logo you set on the “Brand and Colors” tab. Use caution when pushing updates.
  • Once updates are pushed, they cannot be canceled or reversed. You can always make another update and push the desired settings out again, but proceed with caution. You can always reach out to our support team if you need guidance.
  • While an update is in progress, editing is disabled. You will not be able to edit the impacted tab on the default configuration page, or on the corresponding settings page for that specific location, until the update is complete. Don’t worry, most updates are very quick.
  • The settings shown on the default configuration page still apply to new locations/clients you add in the future. If you do not want the changes you pushed to apply to new locations/clients moving forward, be sure to edit the tab settings to your desired defaults before leaving the page.
  • You can control which users have access to push global updates on the user role permissions page. Check the box under advanced options to grant/deny access.